For what it’s worth . . .

I know that all too often I can come across as a know it all.  Some can get very upset at me for it.  Most of those times, though it is not my ego.  It is about pushing too far on a specific point.  Some people are gifted with the ability to say the right thing at the right time in the right way.  I am not one of those.  I may say the right thing, but do so at the wrong time.  Or I may open my big mouth at the right time and have the right attitude but say the wrong thing.

This is where the work of the Holy Spirit comes in.  Just at the point when I am about to royally screw up He does His thing.  He puts the right words in my mouth the right attitude in my heart and prompts me at the right time.

A few weeks ago I had this happen to me.  I was blessed by my wife with the gift of a registration to a conference called T4G (Together for the Gospel).  It was a marvelous blessing to my soul.  God’s word simply, but powerfully, preached reproved my doubts, rebuked my laziness, corrected my wrong views, and taught me to find a greater joy.

But as amazing as this was the most awesome part of this week was getting to spend three days with a great friend.  This young man is soon to graduate from college and enter vocational ministry.  I met Herbie in 2007 when I became the youth pastor at his home church.  His love for Jesus and his joy in that love from day one were a constant encouragement to me.  At T4G we had some great conversations.  During the course of one of those I found myself speaking into this man’s life in a way that I never have before.  I remember thinking to myself, “where is that coming from?”  The only answer I can come up with is that the Holy Spirit did His thing and stopped me from doing mine.

Did I give my friend life altering advice?  I don’t think so.  Was it appropriate for the need of the moment? I believe so.  Was it given with the right attitude? Yes.  Was it the right thing to say? To be honest, I am not sure.  But what I do know is that it was not me.  I was not being a know it all, I was allowing the ONE who does know it all to use me.  I am not sure if I will ever get past the know it all stage this side of heaven, but for what it’s worth I am glad to know there is a real “know it all” who finds it in His goodness to share what He knows through us at times.

Leave a comment

Filed under General Thoughts

Leave a Reply

