Thirsty?

Stomach flu!  It is a direct result of the fall.  I detest it.  I despise it.  Did I mention that I hate the stomach flu?  I do.  I would rather go into surgery without anesthesia.

But this past week I have to say that the stomach flu served a sanctifying purpose in my life.  (No, it was not to build patience in me.  That is a lost cause! ;))

I will spare you the gruesome details but, suffice it to say, that after bowing to the white throne for a day I was totally dehydrated.  I mean I was parched.  I had been tossing my cookies for hours and I was dry!  My lips had chapped and were starting to crack.  My sinuses , for the first time in weeks, were dry.  My hands felt like chalk.

I had a bottle of water next to my bed.  As I laid there I wanted nothing more than to open that 20 oz. bottle and chug it.  But I couldn’t.  I knew that if I did I would just get more dehydrated as I worshipped the porcelain gods again.

It was then that God brought Psalm 42:1-2 to mind, “As the deer pants for the water brooks, So my soul pants for You, O God.

2 My soul thirsts for God, for the living God; When shall I come and appear before God?”  The Spirit just impressed upon my heart that it had been a long time since I had felt toward Jesus, the way I felt toward that water bottle.  I must admit that I was sick to my stomach in a whole new way.

Did I even realize that my soul was also parched?  Did my spirit long for living water the way my body longed for H20?  I confess that I felt  ashamed because I was not thirsting like I should.

While I do not recommend the stomach flu, I recommend spiritual dehydration even less.  Is your soul satisfied?  Are you thirsty?  You need never thirst again.  Come and drink your fill of living water.  It is free!  But you need to come and drink, daily!  The bottle was at my side but only drinking it would quench my thirst.  What about you?  Have you had your fill of the living God?

Leave a comment

Filed under General Thoughts, Psalms

Leave a Reply

