Of hope and despair. You choose.

It is the nature of the beast that we decry the loss of things we value.  It is the same in the realm of theology.  As a theologian I will dare to speak on the behalf of theologians.  I have seen numerous blogs and heard many messages where the writers and speakers are bemoaning the loss of the cross and the Gospel as found in Scripture.  Some have despaired due to the lack of truth being spoken and written.  Some even see themselves as one of the few left who still speak the truth.

I am not one of those I mentioned above.  And I have no intention of joining their ranks.  Why?  Because I am determined to be the voice of truth as long as I live.  Because I believe that Jesus is The Way, The Truth, and The Life.  Because I am not ashamed of the Gospel that demands repentance from sin, acknowledgement of Jesus as God incarnate, and belief in the bodily resurrection of Jesus from the dead after dying a substitutionary death on the cross for the sins of mankind.

I am not afraid to be politically incorrect in order to hold to the truth.  I believe that there is only one God, and that He exists as a trinity.  I believe that God made the world in six literal days, and that, as The Creator, He has the right to do as He wishes.  I believe that God revealed Himself in sixty-six books gathered into one compendium called The Bible.  I still believe in a literal hell, and that anyone who does not repent from their sin and ask for God to redeem them by the blood of Jesus will spend eternity there.  I believe in sin as it is defined in the Bible.  I believe that there is an eternal reward for those who believe in Jesus, which includes eternity in heaven, the eternal presence of God, and all the comfort that knowing God is watching over us in the here and now can bring.

I believe in grace, mercy, love, hope, forgiveness and joy.  I believe that there is nothing in this world that can separate me from my Lord.  I am a Christian and I am unashamed.  I have no reason to despair, decry, or bemoan.  How about you?

Leave a comment

Filed under General Thoughts, The Gospel

Leave a Reply

