Reflections

I know some things in my life with such certainty that I believe them to be immovable and unshakable components of my life.  Some of these things would include the trustworthiness of the Bible, the sovereignty of God, and the righteousness of Jesus.  These things I believe and count as some of my greatest blessings.

It is through the Bible that I know of God’s love, and His wrath.  It is through His sovereignty that I sleep at night.  And it is through the righteousness of Jesus that I am accepted by God as His son and redeemed from my sin.  These things show me that God is who He says He is.  The Bible is God’s self revelation to man.  But it is more than that.  It is one of the greatest blessings God has bestowed on mankind.

Allow me to explain.  God is, without question, the grandest person in the universe.  At the risk of sounding like an infatuated school girl, there is nothing greater than getting to know God.  But the problem is that like all great persons God is unapproachable unless He desires for a man to come to Him.  But God is not just a celebrity who desires privacy, or a King that grants but few audiences, He is GOD!  No, He is not just a ruler, He is the Creator who not only made this world but owns every part and parcel of it.

So, the wonder of it is that God has chosen to reveal Himself to mankind and to give His only Son to redeem them.  The marvel is that God, in His sovereignty, has chosen to ordain history in a manner that would result in the salvation of the creatures who spurned Him.  The incredible thing is that God tells us in His Word, the Bible, that He loves us.  The most difficult thing to comprehend is that God has chosen to give those who believe in Jesus as God the eternal reward of His own presence.

For all these things that God has done, and, more importantly, because of who He is I say along with David, the Psalmist, “I will sing to the Lord, because HE has dealt bountifully with me.” (Psalm 13:6)

Leave a comment

Filed under General Thoughts

Leave a Reply

