Random of Directed?

I know for a fact that I have been away from writing for way too long. At the risk of sounding like I am making excuses . . . Have you ever wondered why your life is the way it is? If you are like me then you believe that God is sovereign and ordains your life to suit the plan He has for you. But at times I have had to wonder if God was just experimenting with me or, worse yet, just allowing my life to run a random course.

Now, I know that God does not ever do things like that, and His plans are perfect, but with my finite intelligence and limited knowledge of said plan it is a little disconcerting. On a pleasant note, every now and then God allows us to get a glimpse of the big picture. He chooses to show us how He has been preparing us to deal with situations and people by allowing us to use those seemingly random experiences to benefit the cause of the Gospel.

Today was one of those rare moments. I had the chance to sit and talk with a young Christian for over an hour. Struggling with some decisions in life this new Christian is truly working on growing but struggles with the fear that God expects too much from her. The recent experiences in my life had me wondering much the same thing.

You see, recently I resigned from my job as a youth pastor. The reasons are many but the main one is that I believe God is leading me to pursue a senior pastorate. I was more than a little resistant. I like playing second fiddle. I enjoy putting plans into action but hate the responsibility of formulating said plan. It is not a matter of inability but rather of comfort. I liked what I was doing. But I saw so much that needs to be done in a church that I wanted to avoid failure. I figured that if I was merely putting someone else’s plan into action if it failed it was not my fault but rather the fault of the plan’s creator.

I know, you’re probably thinking, “What a wuss!” The sad thing is that you would be right! I was afraid and because of that avoided what God was calling me to do. Thankfully God is far more wise and patient with me than He needs to be. He helped me see that my problem was fear, something that is not meant for Christians.

Now fast forward to a few days ago when a new Christian is struggling with the same thing -fear . You do the math, how would I have dealt with this young believer had I not been confronted by the same issue in my life? So you tell me, is your life random or is God directing you toward another part of His plan for you? As for me, I know the answer. The same God who said, “Let there be light,” is still commanding all of creation to do as He pleases. So, let’s follow, what are you afraid of?

Leave a comment

Filed under General Thoughts, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

