Fruit of the Spirit: Faithfulness

One of my favorite attributes of God is that He is unchangeable. The Psalmist describes Him as a Rock, Fortress, Bulwark and Hiding place. These are all apt descriptions that convey the same idea a permanent source of security. Simply put these are descriptions of God’s Faithfulness. There is nothing in the universe that could cause, make or force my God to be unfaithful. It simply is not possible.

When it comes to the fruit of the Spirit known as Faithfulness I am even more grateful for God being totally Faithfull. To me this is so reassuring because I know that when it comes to my personal life I am about as faithful as Hosea’s wife, Gomer. I so often go off after that which is not good that I often end up looking at my woeful spiritual condition wondering how God could ever love me. It is then that HIS EVERLASTING FAITHFULNESS is so reassuring. He always takes me back. Not only does He take me back He cleans me up and clothes me in the righteousness of Jesus, His Son, and then gives me back the joy I so foolishly and quickly gave away by giving in to my sin.

So, how on earth do I become Faithful. As with all the other fruit of the Spirit I know that I do not have it in me. Thankfully I don’t have to have it in me, because not only is Faithfulness in Him it is who He IS. When my Lord made me a new creature He placed in me His Spirit which in turn teaches and molds me into the Christian I should be. All it takes is surrender. Complete surrender! Surrender to the Spirit and not my flesh. The only way to win sometimes is to give up! Give up all control of my life and acknowledge that I don’t have a life; I have a gift granted on a daily basis called breath. This life I live is not mine but His. Unless I come to that place I cannot be faithful.

One way to define Faithfulness is this, “unswerving adherence to . . . ,” (you fill in the blank). It is not turning to the left nor veering to the right. It is absolute commitment. It is unfailing determination of the mind and will to follow a course of action at all costs.

I find that when I am unfaithful it is not because I messed up or made a simple mistake. It is because I deliberately chose to turn away from God to indulge myself in something I wanted more than HIM. Faithfulness is choosing to obey God and not follow my own desires. The Psalmist said that all that has breath should praise the Lord. I am so glad that it is not written the other way around. Can you imagine if only those who praise the Lord had breath? I would be dead in a less than a nanosecond.

Discouraged yet? I was until I realized that God knows that I cannot be Faithful. That is why He gave us HIS Spirit. To enable us to do that which without Him it would be impossible to do. It is incredibly wonderful to know that God loves me despite my unfaithfulness and despite it continues to work in me to conform me to the image of Jesus. Even when I am unfaithful God NEVER is unfaithful.

As Jeremiah the Prophet wrote: “Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for His compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is Your Faithfulness.” (Lamentations 3:22, 23) I praise God that He has set the perfect example for me to follow. Forever He is Faithful!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fruit of the Spirit, God's Faithfulness

Leave a Reply

