Bless the LORD, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits:

This past week, as you all know, we celebrated the holiday called Thanksgiving. I have spent the last few days thinking about what it means to be thankful and would like to share my thoughts with you.

First I would like to tell you about a few things I am thankful for:

I am thankful for a Godly heritage.

I am thankful for Loving Godly parents.

I am thankful for a wonderful wife (I love you, Jenn).

I am thankful for three wonderful children.

I am thankful for God trusting me to raise these children for His glory.

I am thankful for God’s unending mercy.

I am thankful for God’s loving kindness.

I am thankful for God’s grace which is always sufficient.

I am thankful for God’s love which is unconditional.

I am thankful for God’s care which is tender and continual.

I am thankful for God’s sovereignty which ensures I cannot mess things up beyond repair.

I am thankful for God’s holiness that made Him send His Son to die for me.

I am thankful for God’s provision of all I need.

I am thankful for God’s adoption of a sinner like me.

I am thankful for the indwelling of the Holy Spirit who teaches me how to live to please the Father.

That is just the beginning of a very long list. But these things have one thing in common, they require action. You see true thankfulness is more than just a feeling. Thankfulness is action. How I respond to the things I am (or should be) thankful for shows whether I truly am thankful or not. Do I tell the people I love that I am thankful for them in my life? Do I take the time to thank God for all that He does for me on a daily basis? One comedian joked that God keeps the world spinning at a constant speed so our watches don’t get messed up. Have we thanked Him?

This may be nothing new to some of you, but for me it is a needed reminder. Ungratefulness was the first sin the nation of Israel always committed before straying from God. Let us not make the same mistake. Take some time today and pray through Psalm 103. We have so much to be thankful for.

To those who are reading this, I want to thank my family, and friends for helping me along the road to Christlikeness. I have not arrived, but I am closer thanks to your role in my life. God bless you in accordance with His will, and my gratitude!

1 Comment

Filed under Doxology, General Thoughts, Worship

One response to “Bless the LORD, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits:

Leave a Reply

